Skip to main content

Meetings with United Nations Road Safety Stakeholders, New York

Following expressed support for the establishment of the UN Road Safety Trust Fund (UN RSTF) by the Secretary-General, the Special Envoy met with a number of high-level UN officials in New York, including the Secretary-General. The Special Envoy, in addition to providing an update on his activities, shared about the progress on the establishment of the UN RSTF and welcomed support from other UN agencies. 

The Special Envoy held meetings with the following officials:
Mr. António Guterres, United Nations Secretary-General

Mr. Omar Abdi, Deputy Executive Director, UNICEF

Mr. Ted Chaiban, Director of Programme Division, UNICEF

Mr. Peter Drennan, Under-Secretary-General for Safety and Security

Ms. Michelle Gyles-McDonnough, Director of Sustainable Development Unit, EOSG

Mr. Fabrizio Hochschild, Assistant Secretary-General for Strategic Coordination

Mr. Michael O’Neill, Former Assistant Administrator and Director of the Bureau of External Relations and Advocacy

Ms. Alison Smale, Under-Secretary-General for Global Communications and Public Information

Ms. Maria luiza Ribeiro Viotti, SG Chef de Cabinet 

Ms. Jayathma Wickramanayake, United Nations Secretary-General’s Envoy on Youth

Mr. Liu Zhenmin, Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs

Mr. Miroslav Lajcak, President of the 72nd session of the General Assembly