

Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 11 September 2023

English

Original: English, French and

Russian

Economic Commission for Europe

Administrative Committee for the TIR Convention, 1975

Eighty-first session

Geneva, 11 October 2023 Item 4 (a) (i) of the provisional agenda Activities and administration of the TIR executive board: Activities of the TIR Executive Board

Election of members of the TIR Executive Board

Note by the secretariat

I. Background

- 1. At its seventy-ninth and eightieth sessions (9 February and 9 June 2023 respectively), the Committee elected the following eight persons, having obtained a majority of votes of the contracting states present and voting, as members of the TIR Executive Board (TIRExB) for a term of office of two years (in English alphabetical order of their last names):
 - Mr. Mostafa AYATI (Islamic Republic of Iran)
 - Mr. Marco CIAMPI (Italy)
 - Mr. Elyor KHAKIMOV (Uzbekistan)
 - Mr. Pierre-Jean LABORIE (European Commission)
 - Mr. Hugo Richard MAYER (Austria)
 - Mr. Anil ŞENMANAV (Türkiye)
 - Mr. Dzhovidon SHARIPOV (Tajikistan)
 - Ms. Caroline ZUIDGEEST (Netherlands)
- 2. In order to fill the one remaining position, the Committee decided, during its last session in June 2023 and, due to lack of time, to continue the elections at its October session. The Committee further decided that the three remaining candidates, not elected, would stand in the by-election at the October 2023 session.
- 3. To that end, the Committee may wish to consider the current document which contains the approved election procedure to be followed during this election. Informal document WP.30/AC.2 (2023) No. 8 (restricted to Government officials), contains the list of the remaining candidates who had been nominated for the June elections, with their curriculum vitae (C.V.), and can be made available by the secretariat upon request.
- 4. Therefore, there is no need for Governments to nominate any new candidate since this is the continuation of the June elections.

II. Circulation of list of candidates

5. In this context, the contracting parties to the Convention may wish to note that TIRExB shall be composed of nine members, each from a different contracting party to the Convention. The term of office of each member of TIRExB shall be two years. The members of TIRExB may be re-elected (Annex 8, Article 9 of the Convention). In accordance with Explanatory Note 8.13.1-2 of the Convention, the work of the members of the TIRExB is financed by their respective Governments.

III. Criteria for nomination of candidates and election procedure

A. Criteria for the nomination of candidates for the TIR Executive Board

- 6. The criteria for the nomination of candidates for TIRExB, adopted by the Administrative Committee at its twenty-ninth session (TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/59, paras. 24–27) as stipulated by Explanatory Note 8.9.1 (entry into force: 1 January 2015), are as follows:
- 8.9.1 The members of TIRExB shall be competent and experienced in the application of customs procedures, particularly the TIR transit procedure, both at national and international levels. Board members shall be nominated by their respective Governments or organizations being contracting parties to the Convention. They shall represent the interests of the contracting parties to the Convention and not the specific interests of any one individual Government or organization (ECE/TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/117, para. 29).

B. Procedure for the election of candidates for the TIR Executive Board

- 7. The election procedure, adopted by the Administrative Committee at its twenty- ninth session (TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/59, paras. 24–27) and as amended at its fifty-ninth session (ECE/TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/121, para. 25), is as follows:
- (a) Election shall be decided by secret ballot, unless, in the absence of any objection, the Committee decides to proceed without taking a ballot on an agreed candidate or slate. In such a case, each Contracting State will have as many votes as there are available posts. There will be no election by acclamation in case the number of nominated candidates equals the number of available posts. An accumulation of votes on any one candidate is not permissible (TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/53, para. 31, and ECE/TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/121, para. 25).
- (b) Candidates who have obtained a majority of votes are elected. In case the majority of votes has been obtained by more candidates than there are posts available, the candidates with the highest number of votes are elected (TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/53, para. 31).
- (c) The TIR Secretary and his staff will arrange for the election procedure and the counting of votes (TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/53, para. 31).
- (d) The number of votes obtained by the nominated candidates during the election will not be disclosed (TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/53, para. 34).
- 8. In accordance with the procedure adopted by the Administrative Committee in February 1999, on the occasion of the initial election of members of the TIRExB, nominated candidates may wish to introduce themselves briefly before the election procedure to the delegations of the Contracting Parties present at the session of the Administrative Committee.

2