

Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 26 May 2023

Original: English, French and Russian

Economic Commission for Europe

Conference of European Statisticians

Seventy-first plenary session Geneva, 22-23 June 2023 Item 10 of the provisional agenda Election of the Bureau of the Conference of European Statisticians

Election of the Bureau of the Conference of European Statisticians for the two-year period from June 2023 to June 2025

Prepared by the Secretariat

Summary

In accordance with the *Rules governing the work of the Conference of European Statisticians and its Bureau* (ECE/CES/2019/2), the Conference elects its Bureau for a period of two years. The current term of all members of the Bureau expires at the closing of the 2023 plenary session, on 23 June 2023. Elections for a Chair and for the Vice-Chairs will therefore be held at the 2023 plenary session for the two-year period from June 2025.

The present document explains the procedure for the elections of the new Bureau. The elections will be carried out on 23 June 2023 under agenda item 10.



1. The current term of all members of the Bureau of the Conference of European Statisticians (CES) expires at the closing of the 2023 plenary session, on 23 June 2023. At the 2023 plenary session, elections for a Chair and for the Vice-Chairs will therefore be held for the two-year period from June 2023 to June 2025.

2. In addition to the elected members of the Bureau, representatives of some international organizations active in statistics in the UNECE region participate as permanent observers on the Bureau as stated in section 4, paragraph 13 (a) of the *Rules governing the work of the Conference and its Bureau*, provided in document ECE/CES/2019/2: "Standing invitations are extended to the Director-General of Eurostat, the Chief Statistician of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the Chairperson of the OECD Committee on Statistics, the Chairperson of the Interstate Statistical Committee of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS-STAT), the Director of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) Statistics Department and the Director of the Development Data Group of the World Bank. The Director of the United Nations Statistics Division is invited to participate in Bureau meetings as a representative of the United Nations Secretariat."

3. The elections of the Bureau are governed by the *Rules governing the work of the Conference and its Bureau*, provided in document ECE/CES/2019/2. The rules were adopted by the Conference in 2007 and updated in 2019.

4. As explained in paragraph 12 (a) of the Rules, "any member of the Conference is eligible for membership in the Bureau of the Conference". A member of the Conference is defined in paragraph 3 of the Rules, as "the Head of the statistical service of any member country of the United Nations that participates regularly in the work of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe". It is thus possible for the Head of the statistical service of a country outside the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) region to be a member of the Conference, and to be elected to its Bureau.

5. According to paragraph 12 (b) of the Rules, "The Bureau is composed of up to eight members, of whom six members should be from the UNECE member countries and the remaining one or two places be reserved for possible candidates from countries in other regions, to ensure reach out, transfer of knowledge and collaboration with other regions".

6. Further, according to paragraph 12 (c) of the Rules, "If a Bureau member leaves the Bureau, a new member may be co-opted until the time of the next plenary session, when a new Bureau member is elected."

7. Furthermore, in 2021 the CES decided to include the 'Kingmaker' (the most senior previous Chair or Vice-Chair of the Conference) as a permanent observer in the Bureau, to help maintain the institutional memory and ensure the continuity of work.

8. The previous Bureau elections were held in June 2021. The Conference elected six Heads of national statistical offices from the UNECE region (Armenia, Canada, Ireland, Poland, Serbia and the United Kingdom) and two from outside the region (Mexico, representing the ECLAC region, and New Zealand, representing the ESCAP region). Since June 2021, the Head of the national statistical office of Mexico has left his posts as Chief Statistician. At the proposal of the Chair and in agreement with the Bureau, the new Chief Statistician of Mexico was co-opted to the Bureau.

9. The Bureau currently consists of the following persons, who were either elected at the 2021 plenary session, or co-opted by the Bureau later to replace the Bureau member who left his post of the Head of office and could no longer serve on the Bureau:

Chairperson: Mr. P. Dalton (Ireland), second term as a Bureau member; first term as the Chair;

Vice-Chairs: Mr. S. Mnatsakanyan (Armenia), fourth term;

Mr. A. Arora (Canada), third term;

Ms. G. Marquez (Mexico), co-opted in February 2022 to replace Mr Julio Santaella;

Mr. M. Sowden (New Zealand), first full term;

Mr. D. Rozkrut (Poland), second term;

Mr. M. Kovačevic (Serbia), first full term;

Sir I. Diamond (United Kingdom), first term;

Ms. Aija Zigure (Latvia), the Kingmaker.

10. According to paragraph 14 (d) of the Rules, "Bureau members can be elected to four successive Bureaus. Any previous Bureau member can be re-elected to the Bureau after an interruption of at least two years."

11. According to paragraph 15 (c) of the Rules "A Chairman of the Conference may be re-elected once. Any previous Chairman may be re-elected Chairman after an interruption of at least two years."

12. There are no formal nominations for Bureau membership. Paragraph 14 (a) of the Rules states: "The election of the Bureau by the Conference is carried out on the basis of a proposal by the most senior previous Chairman of the Conference present at the plenary session concerned." There is no previous Chairperson of the Bureau among the members of the Conference. Ms. A. Zigure, Chief Statistician of Latvia, is the most senior previous Vice-Chairperson of the Conference and, therefore, she will make the proposal for the new membership of the Bureau. Paragraph 14 (a) further stipulates that "The proposal should be prepared in such a way that it maximizes the chances of being adopted by consensus". Ms. Zigure will consult the proposal with all the CES members via an electronic procedure before the plenary session. The outcome of the consultation will be announced by Ms. A. Zigure during the plenary session.

13. Elections for the Chair and Vice-Chairs for a period of two years will be held on Friday, 23 June 2023 under item 10 of the CES plenary session agenda.