Informal document WP.30/AC.2 (2023) No. 1/Rev.1

Distr.: General

25 October 202215 February 2023

English

Original: English, French and

Russian

Economic Commission for Europe

Administrative Committee for the TIR Convention, 1975

Seventy-ninth eightieth session

Geneva, 9 February 20235-9 June 2023, subject to confirmation

Item 3 (a) (i) of the provisional agenda

Activities and administration of the TIR executive board (TIRExB):

Election of members of the TIR Executive Board

Election of members of the TIR Executive Board

Note by the secretariat

A. Nomination of candidates

- 1. At its 79th session (9 February 2023), the Committee elected the following seven persons, having obtained a majority of votes of the contracting states present and voting, as members of TIRExB for a term of office of two years (in English alphabetical order of their last names):
- Mr. Mostafa AYATI (Islamic Republic of Iran)
- Mr. Marco CIAMPI (Italy)
- Mr. Elyor KHAKIMOV (Uzbekistan)
- Mr. Pierre-Jean LABORIE (European Commission)
- Mr. Hugo Richard MAYER (Austria)
- Mr. Anil ŞENMANAV (Türkiye)
- Ms. Caroline ZUIDGEEST (Netherlands)

In order to fill the two remaining position(s), the Committee decided to hold another round of elections at an additional session, to be held in the week of 5-9 June 2023, subject to confirmation and mandated the secretariat to make the necessary arrangement to accommodate the session. To that end, the Committee recalled Informal document WP.30/AC.2 (2023) No. 1, containing the approved election procedure and soliciting candidates willing to stand for election of the two remaining posts as members of TIRExB for the term 2023–2024, which will be revised accordingly and re-issued by the secretariat. The secretariat informed the Committee that the call for candidates will be circulated, as in the past, via email to all heads of customs administrations of contracting parties, delegates of AC.2, TIR focal points and to the permanent missions of contracting parties to the United Nations Office at Geneva (UNOG). The deadline by which nominations would need

- to be received by the ECE secretariat is 28 March 2023, midnight CET. No further candidates may be nominated following expiry of this deadline. On 30 March 2023, the ECE secretariat will circulate a list of candidates who have been nominated by their respective governments or organizations, being contracting parties to the Convention.
- 2. The name and present function of the candidate a Government may wish to nominate, together with a short description of his/her duties and qualifications, should be received by the ECE secretariat at the latest on 28 March 2023 (midnight Geneva time) per email only (Attention: Mr. Konstantinos Alexopoulos, Building H, Palais des Nations, CH-1211 Geneva 10; e-mail: konstantinos.alexopoulos@un.org).

B. Circulation of list of candidates

- 3. Following receipt of the names of candidates, the ECE secretariat will circulate, on 30 March 2023, a list of all nominated candidates among the contracting parties to the Convention. In accordance with the decision of the Administrative Committee (TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/59, para. 26), no further candidates may be nominated following the issuance of this list by the ECE secretariat. It is understood, however, that candidates may be withdrawn following the circulation of the list of nominated candidates.
- 4. In this context, the contracting parties to the Convention may wish to note that TIRExB shall be composed of nine members, each from a different contracting party to the Convention. The term of office of each member of TIRExB shall be two years. The members of TIRExB may be re-elected (Annex 8, Article 9 of the Convention). In accordance with Explanatory Note 8.13.1-2 of the Convention, the work of the members of the TIRExB is financed by their respective Governments.

C. Criteria for nomination of candidates and election procedure

I. Criteria for the nomination of candidates for the TIRExB

- 5. The criteria for the nomination of candidates for TIRExB, adopted by the Administrative Committee at its twenty-ninth session (TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/59, paras. 24–27) as stipulated by Explanatory Note 8.9.1 (entry into force: 1 January 2015), are as follows:
- 8.9.1 The members of TIRExB shall be competent and experienced in the application of customs procedures, particularly the TIR transit procedure, both at national and international levels. Board members shall be nominated by their respective Governments or organizations being contracting parties to the Convention. They shall represent the interests of the contracting parties to the Convention and not the specific interests of any one individual Government or organization (ECE/TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/117, para. 29).

II. Procedure for the election of candidates for the TIRExB

- 6. The election procedure, adopted by the Administrative Committee at its twenty-ninth session (TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/59, paras. 24–27) and as amended at its fifty–ninth session (ECE/TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/121, para. 25), is as follows:
- (a) Election shall be decided by secret ballot, unless, in the absence of any objection, the Committee decides to proceed without taking a ballot on an agreed candidate or slate. In such a case, each Contracting State will have as many votes as there are available posts. There will be no election by acclamation in case the number of nominated

candidates equals the number of available posts. An accumulation of votes on any one candidate is not permissible (TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/53, para. 31, and ECE/TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/121, para. 25).

- (b) Candidates who have obtained a majority of votes are elected. In case the majority of votes has been obtained by more candidates than there are posts available, the candidates with the highest number of votes are elected (TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/53, para. 31).
- (c) The TIR Secretary and his staff will arrange for the election procedure and the counting of votes (TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/53, para. 31).
- (d) The number of votes obtained by the nominated candidates during the election will not be disclosed (TRANS/WP.30/AC.2/53, para. 34).
- 7. In accordance with the procedure adopted by the Administrative Committee in February 1999, on the occasion of the initial election of members of the TIRExB, nominated candidates may wish to introduce themselves briefly before the election procedure to the delegations of the Contracting Parties present at the session of the Administrative Committee.