Economic Commission for Europe

Conference of the Parties to the Convention on the Transboundary Effects of Industrial Accidents

Twelfth meeting

Geneva, 29 November–1 December 2022 Item 4 of the provisional agenda

Election of officers and other members of the Bureau of the Conference of the Parties

Candidatures for election as officers and members of the Convention's Bureau

- 1. At its twelfth meeting, the Conference of the Parties will be invited to elect a Chair and two Vice-Chairs as its officers and up to seven other members of the Bureau from among the representatives of the Parties.
- 2. <u>Rule 22</u> of the rules of procedures, as amended by the Conference of the Parties at its ninth meeting (ECE/CP.TEIA/37), stipulates that:
 - "29. The Bureau shall consist of not more than 10 members, as follows:
 - (a) The Officers;
 - (b) Representatives of other Parties.
 - 30. At the commencement of each meeting, the members of the Bureau other than the Officers shall be elected by the Parties present at the meeting, taking into account the need for a balanced representation of the different geographical subregions of ECE and gender. They shall be eligible for re-election. Candidatures shall be communicated by the Parties to the secretariat at least eight weeks ahead of the meeting. The secretariat shall communicate the list of candidates to the Parties at the latest six weeks before the meeting.
 - 31. The Bureau shall be chaired by the Chair of the Conference of the Parties. If the Chair is absent or is unable to complete his or her term of office or to perform his or her functions, a Vice-Chair shall act as Chair."
- 3. Rule 19 of the rules of procedure (ECE/CP.TEIA/37) stipulates that:
 - "23. At the commencement of each meeting, a Chairperson and two Vice-Chairpersons shall be elected from among the representatives of the Parties present at the meeting. They shall serve as Officers of the Conference of the Parties and remain in office until their successors are elected. They shall be eligible for re-election.
 - 24. The Chairperson shall participate in the meeting in that capacity and shall not at the same time exercise the rights of a representative of a Party. In such a case, the Party concerned shall designate another representative who shall be entitled to represent it in the meeting."



4. The secretariat has received the following communications by Parties on candidatures for election as members of the Bureau at the upcoming twelfth meeting of the Conference of the Parties, by 4 October 2022, i.e. up to eight weeks before the Conference:

Party	Name	Affiliation
Armenia	Ms. Armine Hayrapetyan	Sendai National Focal Point; Representative in Foreign Countries and International Organizations, Ministry of Emergency Situations of the Republic of Armenia
Austria	Mr. Michael Struckl	Independent expert nominated by the Ministry for Climate Action, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology, Austria
European Union	Mr. Camille Siefridt	Policy Officer, Industrial Emissions and Safety Unit, Directorate-General Environment, European Commission
Finland	Ms. Wivi-Ann Wagello-Sjölund	Ministerial Advisor, Department for Rescue Services, Ministry of Interior of Finland
France	Ms. Marie-Claire Lhenry	Head of International and European Affairs, General Directorate for Risk Prevention, Ministry of the Ecological Transition of France
Montenegro	Ms. Dragana Raonić Popović	Advisor, Department for Pollution Control and Chemicals Management, Directorate for Ecology, Ministry of Ecology, Spatial Planning and Urbanism of Montenegro
Norway	Ms. Torill Tandberg	Specialist Director, International Section, Norwegian Directorate General for Civil Protection
Serbia	Ms. Suzana Milutinovic	Head of Department for Major Chemical Accident Protection, Ministry of Environmental Protection of the Republic of Serbia
Switzerland	Mr. Martin Merkofer	Head, Prevention of Major Accidents and Earthquake Mitigation Section, Hazard Prevention Division, Swiss Federal Office for the Environment
United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland	Ms. Gill Smart	Head, Chemicals and Land Use Planning Policy Team, Regulation, International and Major Hazards Policy Branch, Engagement and Policy Division, Health and Safety Executive of the United Kingdom

¹ The list is presented in alphabetical order of the Parties which nominated candidates.

- 5. The Norwegian Directorate for Civil Protection nominated Ms. Torill Tandberg to be a candidate for the election as Chair of the Bureau.
- 6. Furthermore, in order to support a smooth and transparent election of officers, the Bureau agreed to propose to the Conference of the Parties at its twelfth meeting the election of officers, as follows:

Party	Name	Officer
Norway	Ms. Torill Tandberg	Chair
Switzerland	Mr. Martin Merkofer	Vice-Chair
France	Ms. Marie-Claire Lhenry	Vice-Chair