Elections to the Implementation Committee Item 6(c)

Iulia Trombitcaia, Water Convention secretariat, UNECE





Elections at MOP (decision VI/1)

- A full term of office is 2 intersessional periods (6 years)
- Members shall not serve for more than 2 consecutive terms, unless the MOP decides otherwise
- Term of office of 4 current members ends at MOP-9
- Ms. Dinara Ziganshina (1st term ends at MOP-2021)
- Mr. Johan Gerrit Lammers (1.5 term ends at MOP-2021)
- Ms. Anne Schulte-Wülwer-Leidig (1.5 term ends at MOP-2021)
- Mr. Attila Tanzi (1.5 term ends at MOP-2021)
- Mr. Kari Kinnunen (2nd term continues till MOP-2024)
- Mr. Stephen McCaffrey (2nd term continues till MOP-2024)
- Mr. Ivan Zavadsky (2nd term continues till MOP-2024)
- Mr. Martins Paparinskis (1st term continues till MOP-2024)
- Mr. Pedro Cunha Serra (1st term continues till MOP-2024)



Nomination process (decision VI/1)

- Parties nominate candidates
- Parties may take into consideration any proposal for candidates made by Signatories or by NGOs
- Deadline to send nominations to secretariat 7 July 2021
- Nomination shall include CV (not exceeding 600 words) and may include supporting material
- The secretariat shall distribute the nominations as soon as they become available



Requirements (decision VI/1)

- Members shall be persons with experience and recognized expertise in the fields related to the Convention, including legal and/or scientific and technical expertise
- Members shall serve in personal capacity
- In the election of the Committee members, consideration shall be given to the geographical distribution of membership and to the diversity of expertise

Other considerations

- Gender parity
- Members shall be ready to devote sufficient time to Committee activities