## Statement by the Republic of Cyprus

The representative of Cyprus following the presentation made by the Turkish delegate and regarding slides 9 and 28 where the occupied part of the Republic of Cyprus presented under the name "KKTC" made the following statement: "The Republic of Cyprus is an independent State, member of the United Nations and of the European Union, with 36.2% of its territory under Turkish military occupation since the Turkish invasion in 1974. The occupied area was purportedly and illegally declared an independent state, under the name 'Turkish republic of northern Cyprus' in November 1983. With resolutions 541 (1983) and 550 (1984), the UN Security Council condemned the purported declaration of independence, declared it as legally invalid and called upon all States to respect the sovereignty of the Republic of Cyprus, and 'not to facilitate or in any way assist the aforesaid secessionist entity'. As a consequence, no country other than Turkey has recognized the said illegal regime and the Republic of Cyprus remains the only recognized State on the island and its government is recognized as having jurisdiction over the entire island".