

Hosted by the United Nations Secretary-General's Special Envoy for Road Safety



# Fourth United Nations Partnership Meeting for Road Safety

4 November 2020, 15:00 to 17:00 CET (09:00-11:00 EST), Cisco Webex online platform

# **Agenda**

## I 15:00 - 15:20 │ Opening and Welcome

- Mr. Jean Todt, UN Secretary-General's Special Envoy for Road Safety
- Ms. Amina J. Mohammed, UN Deputy Secretary-General (Video message)
- Ms. Olga Algayerova, Executive Secretary, UNECE
- Ms. Armida Salsiah Alisjahbana, Executive Secretary, ESCAP
- Ms. Vera Songwe, Executive Secretary, UNECA
- Mr. Makhtar Diop, Vice President for Infrastructure, World Bank

#### II 15:20 - 15:30 | Tour de Table

#### III 15:30 - 16:15 | United Nations agenda for the new Decade of Action for Road Safety

Moderated by Mr. Nhan Tran, Head Safety and Mobility, WHO

- Presentation on the preparation of the Global Plan of Action by Mr. Robert Nowak, Economic Affairs Officer, UNECE
- Discussion
  - Requests for the floor: Mr. Houlin Zhao, Secretary-General, ITU; Ms. Jayathma Wickramanayake, Secretary-General's Envoy on Youth; Ms. Cristina Duarte, Special Adviser on Africa; Ms. Mami Mizutori, Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Disaster-Risk Reduction, UNDRR
  - Open Floor: interventions by Mr. Gilles Michaud, Under-Secretary-General for Safety and Security, DSS; Mr. Soames Job, Global Lead for Road Safety and Head of the Global Road Safety Facility, WB; Mr. Weimin Ren, Director, Transport Division, ESCAP; Mr. Justice Tettey, Chief, Laboratory and Scientific Section, UNODC
- Conclusions

### **IV** 16:15 - 16:45 │ United Nations Road Safety Fund (UNRSF): Positioning for maximum impact

Moderated by Mr. Matthew Baldwin, Chairperson, UNRSF Advisory Board

- Video "Save lives with the UNRSF"
- Presentation on the current status by Mr. Romain Hubert, Acting Head, UNRSF
- Discussion
  - Requests for the floor: Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif, Executive Director, UN-Habitat; Mr. Nhan Tran, Head Safety and Mobility, WHO
  - Open Floor
- Conclusions

#### V 16:45 - 16:55 Open Floor to Participants

- Requests for the floor: Ms. Aditi Maheshwari, Director for Climate Action, UN; Mr. Alex Mejia, Director, Division for People and Social Inclusion, UNITAR; Ms. Sara Adam, Director, Management Services Division, WFP; Mr. Dominic Grace, Chief, Global Mobility and Infrastructure Service, UNHCR
- Open Floor: interventions by Mr. Yarob Badr, Regional Advisor, Transport and Logistics, ESCWA;
  Mr. Alexis Laffittan, Partnerships Development Specialist, UNDP

#### VI 16:55 - 17:00 | Closing

Click here to attend



Mr. Jean Todt, UN Secretary-General's Special Envoy for Road Safety