Decision 2018/3 Guiding principles for financial assistance

The Conference of the Parties,

Decides that the countries of Eastern Europe (Belarus, Republic of Moldova and Ukraine), South-Eastern Europe (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia), the Caucasus (Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia) and Central Asia (Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan) are eligible, depending on the availability of funds, to receive financial assistance to support the participation of their experts and representatives in activities organized within the framework of the Convention on the Transboundary Effects of Industrial Accidents and under the Assistance and Cooperation Programme, as follows: the secretariat will provide participants with financial support and airplane tickets to help them cover the expenses related to their participation, including accommodation,

Also decides that developing and least developed countries outside the region of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe having expressed an interest in the Convention are eligible, depending on the availability of funds, to receive financial assistance to support the participation of their experts and representatives in activities organized within the Convention's framework,

Agrees to apply these guiding principles for financial assistance in the biennium 2019–2020.